Sessions Section

The Sessions section in Fiddler Everywhere provides the option to save, modify, inspect, encrypt, and share previously captured traffic. The section is part of a collapsable panel that you can hide/show to optimize your working space.

To save sessions to the Sessions list, use the Save and Share options of the Live Traffic list.

Sessions list

Working with Saved Sessions

You can select, inspect, modify, and share with collaborators previously saved sessions. The saved session entries can be saved locally or in the cloud. Sharing a session with a collaborator is done automatically when you upload the saved session entry to the cloud.

You can apply a number of actions to a saved session entry:

  • To select a saved session entry from the Sessions list, single-click it.
  • To load the context menu of a selected session entry, right-click it. The context menu provides multiple options for managing, exporting, and modifying the saved session entry.
  • To encrypt and protect your session, set a password. The context menu provides options for setting, changing, and removing passwords for the saved session entry.
  • To open a saved session entry from the Sessions list in a new tab, double-click it. For encrypted sessions, only users with knowledge of the password will be able to open the session entry.
  • Use the UI buttons next to a saved session entry to Manage Users (cloud session entries only), Share, and Delete saved session entries.
  • Use the UI buttons at the very top to Import sessions archives or to access previously Shared Sessions entries.

Sharing Sessions

To share captured traffic with other collaborators, first save the session in the cloud. Note that sessions held locally will be transferred to the cloud if you use the share functionalities. For encrypted sessions, only users with knowledge of the password will be able to open the session entry.

Fiddler Everywhere provides UI solutions for sharing and collaboration.

Sharing Selected Sessions

To share a selected session:

  1. Select a saved session entry from the Sessions list.
  2. Click the Share button to the right of the entry name.
  3. When the Share Sessions prompt window appears, enter a valid email (mandatory) and notes (optional). Click Share.

Sharing Loaded Saved Session

To share a loaded saved session:

  1. Double-click a saved session entry from the Sessions list.
  2. The session entry opens in a new tab. Click the Share button from the toolbar. Sessions list
  3. The Share Sessions prompt window appears. Enter a valid email (mandatory) and notes (optional). Click Share.

Managing Users

The Manage Users option appears only if the session entry is stored in the cloud and shared. Click Manage Users to prompt a window to appear that allows you to manage the list of users that have access to the shared session.

Deleting

The Delete button located to the right of the selected entry removes the chosen session entry from the Sessions list. The shared session can be recovered from the Shared Sessions list.

Sessions Context Menu

Each session provides commands that can be accessed through its context menu, or with keyboard shortcuts.

Saved sessions context menu

Opening

The Open option will load the selected session in the Live Traffic list; can be accessed with the keyboard by pressing Cmd+Enter (on Mac), or Enter (on Windows).

Exporting

The Export option prompts the Export windows. The session can be exported to various file formats such as SAZ, HTTPArchive, WCATScript, cURL Script, RAW, and more; can be accessed with the keyboard by pressing Cmd+E (on Mac), or Ctrl+E (on Windows).

Renaming

The Rename option allows you to rename the selected session. Available only to the session owner; can be accessed with the keyboard by pressing F2 (on Mac), or F2 (on Windows).

Sharing

The Share option prompts a window to appear that allows you to add the emails of the users with whom you want to share the session with. The sharing option is available only to the session owner; can be accessed with the keyboard by pressing Cmd+Shift+= (on Mac), or Ctrl+Shift+= (on Windows).

Deleting

The Delete option removes the session from the Sessions list; can be accessed with the keyboard by pressing Cmd+Back (on Mac), or Del (on Windows).

Managing Users

The Manage Users option allows you to manage the users with which the session is being shared. The feature is available only for session entries that are stored in the cloud and is active only for the session owner.

manage users icon - Manage users icon.

Saving in The Cloud

The Save in the Cloud option allows you to manage the users with which the session is being shared. The feature is available only for session entries that are locally stored and is active only for the session owner.

Encrypting

The Set Password option allows you to enable encryption and set a password for the selected session entry. Only users with the knowledge of the password will be able to open the password-protected session. Password-protected session are listed in the Session list with a lock icon. For entries that are already password-protected, the context menu provides the options Change Password and Remove Password.

lock icon - Password-protected session icon.

Importing Sessions

Import Session provides an option to load sessions that are saved in various formats such as *.saz (Fiddler Archive), *.har (HTTPrchive), *.tstest (TestStudio LoadTest), *.cap (Packet Capture), *.xml (IE F12 NetXML).

Saved sessions import

Shared Sessions List

The Shared Session button loads a window with the account history of previously shared session entries. Deleted session entries can be restored from here while using the Download option.

Saved sessions import