Edit this page

User Roles

A user role represents a list of predefined permissions which can be granted to different users. By default there are four built-in user roles after installing the report server. You can switch to the User Roles view from the Users Management view dropdown which is located next to the view title.

Built-in Roles

System Administrator

The most powerful user role which gives you unrestricted access to all of the report server functionality. The User Management view is available only if the user belongs to this user role and this role cannot be deleted.

Report Creator

  • All Reports - Unrestricted access

  • All Categories - Unrestricted access

  • All Data Connections - Read access

  • All Tasks - Unrestricted access

Report Reader

  • All Reports - Read access

  • All Categories - Read access

  • All Data Connections - Read access

  • All Tasks - Read access

Data Administrator

  • All Reports - Unrestricted access

  • All Categories - Unrestricted access

  • All Data Connections - Unrestricted access

  • All Tasks - Unrestricted access

User Roles Actions

You can perform the following actions from the User Roles view:

  • Add new user role.

  • Edit user role.

  • Delete user role - you can delete any use role except System Administrator role.

  • Manage permissions - for permissions management refer to (Users and Permissions).

  • Assign users - you can select/deselect which users belong or not to this user role.

Is this article helpful? Yes / No
Thank you for your feedback!

Give article feedback

Tell us how we can improve this article

close
Dummy