Edit this page

Users and Permissions

Manage Users

Register New User

Each user is registered with the following information:

  • Authentication Provider - in case you have set up an external authentication provider (AD FS), a Federation entry will be added in the drop-down list. Otherwise only Local is available.

  • Username

  • Password - available only for local accounts. By default the password must conform to the following rules:

    • at least 6 characters long

    If a mail (SMTP) server is configured there is no need to specify a password for the new local user. After saving the new user a mail with a special activation link will be send to the user's e-mail address. When clicking on the link the user will be taken to a page to set his/her password and after doing so he/she will be redirected to the login page.

  • Email

  • First Name - available only for local accounts. When creating a Federation user, its names will be populated upon first login using AD FS.

  • Last Name - available only for local accounts.

  • Roles - optional. You can assign the user to one or more existing user roles.

Modify User

You can change the following user settings:

  • Email

  • First Name

  • Last Name

  • Password

  • Enabled

Users cannot be deleted. In order to stop the access for a user and free a CAL the user should be disabled.

Manage User Permissions

You can add/remove permissions by clicking on the Manage Permissions button from the Permissions tab.

Manage Permissions

You can grant permissions to a user from the Apply Roles and Add Permission tabs.

The Apply Roles tab allows assigning users to user roles. The user can simultaneously belong to more than one user group. In this way he/she receives the permissions of the user role.

The Add Permission tab allows giving specific permissions to users. Each permission has an Access Mode, Scope, and Target:

Access Modes

  • Read - gives a read permission for the selected scope.

  • Modify - gives an edit permission for the selected scope.

  • Delete - gives delete permission for the selected scope.

  • Create - gives create permission for the selected scope.

Modify and Delete access modes require Read access. Create access mode cannot have a specific scope (e.g. Specific Report, Specific Category, Specific Data Connection).

Scopes

  • All Reports - the permission applies to all the reports.

  • Reports in Category - the permission applies to all the reports that belong to a specific category.

  • Specific Report - the permission applies to a specific report.

  • All Categories - the permission applies to all categories.

  • Specific Category - the permission applies to a specific category.

  • All Data Connections - the permission applies to all data connections.

  • Specific Data Connection - the permission applies to a specific data connection.

  • All Tasks - the permission applies to all tasks.

  • Specific Task - the permission applies to a specific task.

Targets

The scope target depends on the selected scope:

  • For Reports in Category scope you have to choose a specific Category.

  • For Specific Report scope you have to choose a specific Report.

  • For Specific Category scope you have to choose a specific Category.

  • For Specific Data Connection scope you have to choose a specific Data Connection.

  • For Specific Task scope you have to choose a specific Task.

Is this article helpful? Yes / No
Thank you for your feedback!

Give article feedback

Tell us how we can improve this article

close
Dummy