User Roles

A user role represents a list of same permissions which can be granted to different users. By default there are four built-in user roles after installing the report server:

  • System Administrator - the most powerful user role which gives you unrestricted access to all of the report server functionality. The User Management view is available only if the user belongs to this user role and this role cannot be deleted.

  • Report Creator

    • All Reports - unrestricted access

    • All Categories - unrestricted access

    • All Data Connections - Read access

    • All Tasks - unrestricted access

  • Report Reader

    • All Reports - Read access

    • All Categories - Read access

    • All Data Connections - Read access

    • All Tasks - Read access

  • Data Administrator

    • All Reports - unrestricted access

    • All Categories - unrestricted access

    • All Data Connections - unrestricted access

    • All Tasks - unrestricted access

You can perform the following actions from the User roles view:

  • Add new user role

    • Name

    • Description

  • Edit user role

    • Name

    • Description

  • Delete user role - you can delete any use role except System
    Administrator
    role

  • Manage permissions - permissions management is the same as for
    the user's individual permissions (Users)

  • Assign users - you can select/deselect which users belong or not
    to this user role.