The timesheet presents a view of all the tasks assigned to a team member for a given week. It is useful for quickly logging work against tasks or for viewing how much time someone spent on certain tasks.
How to get to the timesheet
There are two main ways to get to the timesheet.
- Using the Timesheet button on the Tracking tab of the TeamPulse client.
- Using the navigation menu in the xView site
What items are included in the timesheet
The timesheet always shows one week and one user at a time. The week and user can be changed using the date selector and user list controls near the top of the page. A task will be visible on the timesheet if it is assigned to the selected user and if it is in an iteration whose dates intersect with the selected week. A task may also appear if the user has logged time against it.
When on your timesheet, tasks can be added to any story, bug, issue, or risk by using the menu to the right of the item name and choosing "Add task".
When "Add task" is clicked, a row is added below the story, bug, issue, or risk with space for a task name to be entered. After entering the name you can choose to save the task or save the task and add another task. You may cancel the process at any time using the "cancel" link or the Esc key.
Once the task is saved it will appear as a fully functional task element within the screen. If you chose to save and add another task, a new creation row will appear below. All tasks created in this manner are assigned to the logged in user.
The ability to add tasks to a story, bug, issue, or risk is restricted based on your project-level permissions to edit each item type. For more information please see Project Level Settings.
To log time against a task, simply type a number into one of the boxes in a task row. When the cursor leaves the box or the enter key is pressed, the time entry is saved and the totals are updated. Users can only log time using their own timesheet so if a user other than yourself is chosen, the screen will be read-only.
If a project has more than one work type defined, the work type to log time against can be chosen by clicking the icon in the task row. Choosing a work type will add a new row for that work type beneath the task. A row for the default work type is always displayed. Work types are not applicable to time entries for general tasks (as opposed to work item tasks). For more information about work types, see the section entitled Manage Work Types.
General tasks refer to those tasks that do not relate to any specific work item in a project and are most often used for work such as meetings, support, vacation, etc. General tasks can be defined at either a project or server (non-project) level.
To log time against a project general task, a user must have at least xView access to the project. To log time against a non-project general task, a user must have at least xView to one or more projects. For more information about permissions, see the section entitled Permissions. For more information about managing general tasks, see the section entitled Manage General Tasks.
A note can be added to any time entry by clicking the note icon in a cell that contains a time entry. Clicking the icon will open a dialog where a note can be entered. The note can be deleted by clearing the note text and clicking the Save Changes button.
Deleting time entries
To delete a time entry, simply clear the number in a time entry cell and then move the cursor out of the cell or press the enter key. This will cause the time entry to be deleted and the totals to be updated.