General Tasks

If you need to track time not related to your work items, you can use the General Tasks feature.

General tasks can be:

  • Non-project tasks - if you want to track time not related to any of your projects. E.g. "Sales", or "Vacation" etc..
  • Per project tasks - if you want to track time not related to any of your work items. E.g. "Planning Meetings", "Retrospectives" etc.

Managing non-project tasks

Permissions: Only users with the "Server Administrator" permission can manage non-project general tasks.

Creating Non-project General Tasks

  1. Go to the Administration Site
  2. Go to the Settings -> Time Tracking -> General Tasks
  3. (if you are also a project admin for one or more projects first click on the Non-project Related link.
  4. Type the name of the task you want to create and click the "Add" button.


Renaming Non-project General Tasks

  1. On the General Task - > Non-project Tasks screen.
  2. Click the pencil icon to the right of the task name. The task name will become editable. 
  3. Change the name and click outside of the field to save the changes.

Deleting Non-project General Tasks

  1. Go to the General Task - > Non-project Tasks screen.
  2. Click the recycle bin icon next to the task name.

When you delete the task it will no longer be available for logging time but old time entries against this task will remain unchanged.

Managing Per Project General Tasks

Permissions: Only users with "Project Administrator" permission for at least one project can manage the general per project tasks.

Creating General Per Project Tasks

  1. Open the project you want to create General tasks for.
  2. From the Settings ribbon click on the Time Tracking button
  3. Click the "Customize..." button under the Manage General Tasks label. A new browser window will be opened redirecting you to the Administration site
  4. In the text box enter the name of the task and click the "Add" button.


Renaming General Per Project Tasks

  1. Go to the General Per Project Tasks screen.
  2. Click the pencil icon to the right of the task name. The task name will become editable. 
  3. Change the name and click outside of the field to save the changes.

Deleting General Per Project Tasks

  1. Go to the General Per Project Tasks screen.
  2. Click the recycle bin icon next to the task name.

If there are time entries created for the task you are trying to delete, the task will not deleted but disabled. All time entries related to it will remain unchanged and can be edited. User won't be able to log new work (i.e. create new time entries) against disabled general tasks.

If there are no time entries for the task you are deleting. The task will be deleted permanently.

Notes on General Per Project Tasks

Administrators of multiple projects: If a user has "Project Administrator" permission for more than one project, they can quickly switch between projects by using the