Suggestion Items Customization

SuggestionItemTemplate

Whenever the default template does not fit a particular scenario you can use the SuggestionItemTemplate property to define a custom template.

  • SuggestionItemTemplate (DataTemplate): Defines the template that will be used to create each of the suggestions.
  • SuggestionItemTextColor: Defines the Text Color of the suggested item of the component.

Example

Here is an example how to use the RadAutoCompleteView SuggestionItemTemplate:

First, create the needed business objects, for example type Client with the following properties:

public class Client
{
    public Client(string name, string email, string imageSource)
    {
        this.Name = name;
        this.Email = email;
        this.ImageSource = imageSource;
    }
    public string Name { get; set; }
    public string Email { get; set; }
    public string ImageSource { get; set; }
}

Then create a ViewModel with a collection of Client objects:

public class ViewModel
{
    public ObservableCollection<Client> Source { get; set; }
    public ViewModel()
    {
        this.Source = new ObservableCollection<Client>()
        {
            new Client("Freda Curtis", "fcurtis@mail.com", "available32.png"),
            new Client("Jeffery Francis", "jfrancis@mail.com", "away32.png"),
            new Client("Eva Lawson", "elawson@mail.com", "available32.png"),
            new Client("Emmett Santos", "esantos@mail.com", "busy32.png"),
            new Client("Theresa Bryan", "tbryan@mail.com", "available32.png"),
            new Client("Jenny Fuller", "jfuller@mail.com", "busy32.png"),
            new Client("Terrell Norris", "tnorris@mail.com", "away32.png"),
            new Client("Eric Wheeler", "ewheeler@mail.com", "away32.png"),
            new Client("Nida Carty", "ncarty@mail.com", "away32.png"),
            new Client("Niki Samaniego", "nsamaniego@mail.com", "busy32.png")
        };
    }
}

Finally, use the following snippet to declare a RadAutoCompleteView in XAML:

<telerikInput:RadAutoCompleteView x:Name="AutoComplete"
                                  ItemsSource="{Binding Source}"
                                  TextSearchPath="Name"
                                  VerticalOptions="Start"
                                  Watermark="Search here...">
    <telerikInput:RadAutoCompleteView.SuggestionItemTemplate>
        <DataTemplate>
            <ViewCell>
                <Grid>
                    <Grid.ColumnDefinitions>
                        <ColumnDefinition Width="*" />
                        <ColumnDefinition Width="Auto" />
                    </Grid.ColumnDefinitions>
                    <Label Margin="5"
                           FontSize="24"
                           Text="{Binding Name}"
                           TextColor="Black"/>
                    <Image Grid.Column="1"
                           Margin="5"
                           HeightRequest="20"
                           Source="{Binding ImageSource}"
                           WidthRequest="20"/>
                </Grid>
            </ViewCell>
        </DataTemplate>
    </telerikInput:RadAutoCompleteView.SuggestionItemTemplate>
</telerikInput:RadAutoCompleteView>

Where the telerikInput namespace is the following:

xmlns:telerikInput="clr-namespace:Telerik.XamarinForms.Input;assembly=Telerik.XamarinForms.Input"

Here is the result:

AutoCompleteView SuggestionItemTemplate Example

A sample Custom SuggestionItemTemplate example can be found in the AutoCompleteView/Features folder of the SDK Samples Browser application.

See Also

Is this article helpful? Yes / No
Thank you for your feedback!

Give article feedback

Tell us how we can improve this article

close
Dummy