Progress will discontinue Telerik Platform on May 10th, 2018. Learn more

Authenticating Users

Authenticating Users

If you don't want a user to use your Telerik Platform app anonymously, you must first authenticate them. This is done using the username and password for the user. Once you are authenticated, the server will issue you an access token. You can then use this token to make impersonated requests to Telerik Platform.

Access tokens are temporary, they expire. After a token has expired, you must reauthenticate the user to get a new access token. There are also other cases when a token becomes invalid:

  • When the user changes their password
  • When the user logs out
  • When the user account is deleted

After the user is authenticated, the server returns an access token along with the token type. You can use the access token as an Authorization header in every subsequent service call.

You will notice that the login operation does not return any information (profile data) about the user. You can easily get this information by using the special "me" request.

Here is an example login request:

public void loginUser(EverliveApp app, String username, String password)
{
    app.workWith().authentication().login(username, password).executeAsync();
}

Authenticating a user ensures that the Owner, Created by, and Modified by data item attributes are populated when the user consequently manipulates data.

Start a free trial Request a demo
Contact us: +1-888-365-2779
sales@telerik.com
Copyright © 2016-2017, Progress Software Corporation and/or its subsidiaries or affiliates. All rights reserved.