This article describes how to unpublish apps and how to delete apps from AppManager. At some point, you might want to unpublish apps that are not correctly configured or that are no longer up-to-date. In other cases, you might need to permanently delete apps, for example, when you update an app multiple times and do not want to keep the oldest versions. This article describes how to remove apps from AppManager when they are no longer needed.
To unpublish or delete an app, you need to open AppManager by clicking the App Distribution tab.
Unpublishing an app means that you make it unavailable for download from the AppManager mobile app, the web catalog or using links for distribution. However, the app will still be stored in the App Distribution Portal. The two most common scenarios when you would unpublish an app are:
- To be able to make a major change to the app soon after you have published it (change supported OS version, supported device type, etc.). More information on modifying an existing app is available here: Editing an App.
- To remove an app that is no longer relevant to any of your users. For example, an app facilitating a workflow that is no longer used by the AppManager users.
If you want to make an app unavailable for some of its distribution groups, but available for others, you do not need to unpublish it. You can change the distribution groups by modifying the app while published: Editing an App.
To unpublish an app:
- Select one or many apps in the Apps grid.
- Click Unpublish.
- Click Unpublish when AppManager prompts you to confirm your action.
AppManager unpublishes the app and makes it unavailable for anyone using the AppManager mobile app, the web catalog or email distribution to view or install. Direct installation links will also stop working. Users who have already installed the app will still be able to run it on their devices.
Deleting an app is irreversible and the app is removed from all distribution channels and from the App Distribution Portal. The most common case in which you may want to delete an app is when you have updated the app multiple times and the Apps grid keeps all releases.
To delete one or more apps:
- Locate the apps that you want to delete in the Apps grid and select them.
- Click Delete.
- Click Delete when prompted to confirm your action.
AppManager deletes the apps and makes them unavailable for both users and App Distribution Portal administrators. However, users who have already installed the app will still be able to run it on their devices.