Delete Branches

Filter by IDE
Select the AppBuilder client you are currently using for development.

IDE

This article is applicable to the in-browser client, the universal desktop client and the classic Windows desktop client. For information about version control in the extension for Visual Studio, see Use version control in Visual Studio.

After you have merged a branch into another branch or if you no longer need one of your branches, you can delete it. If you have configured third-party version control, you can also delete the remote branch.

A local branch is the branch of your private repository managed by the built-in version control services. In the Provider cell, a cloud icon indicates that the branch is local.

A remote branch is a branch of the remote repository managed by your third-party Git provider. In the Provider cell, a Git provider-related icon indicates the branch is remote.

Prerequisites

  • Verify that your preferred AppBuilder client is running and you are logged in.
  • Verify that you have opened the code for your app in AppBuilder.
  • Verify that you have merged all changes that you want to preserve.
  • Verify that you have synchronized the state of your local repository with the remote repository.

Procedure

In-Browser

You cannot delete the currently active branch. Deleting a branch cannot be undone.

  1. In the top menu bar, select Version ControlBranches.
  2. Select a branch and click Delete.
  3. If you want to delete the local branch, select the Delete local branch check box.
  4. If you want to delete the remote branch, select the Delete remote branch check box.
  5. Click OK.
  6. If prompted, provide your credentials for the third-party Git provider that hosts your remote repository and click OK.

    Two-factor authentication: If you have enabled two-factor authentication for GitHub, you need to provide a personal access token instead of password.

Universal

You cannot delete the currently active branch. Deleting a branch cannot be undone.

  1. In the top menu bar, select Version ControlBranches.
  2. Select a branch and click Delete.
  3. If you want to delete the local branch, select the Delete local branch check box.
  4. If you want to delete the remote branch, select the Delete remote branch check box.
  5. Click OK.
  6. If prompted, provide your credentials for the third-party Git provider that hosts your remote repository and click OK.

    Two-factor authentication: If you have enabled two-factor authentication for GitHub, you need to provide a personal access token instead of password.

Windows

You cannot delete the currently active branch. Deleting a branch cannot be undone.

  1. In the top menu bar, select Version ControlBranches.
  2. Select a branch and click Delete.
  3. If you want to delete the local branch, select the Delete the local branch check box.
  4. If you want to delete the remote branch, select the Delete the remote branch check box.
  5. Click Ok.
  6. If prompted, provide your credentials for the third-party Git provider that hosts your remote repository and click Ok.

    Two-factor authentication: If you have enabled two-factor authentication for GitHub, you need to provide a personal access token instead of password.

Visual Studio

This operation is applicable to the in-browser client, the universal desktop client and the classic Windows desktop client. For information about version control in the extension for Visual Studio, see Use version control in Visual Studio.

CLI

This operation is applicable to the classic Windows desktop client and the in-browser client. With the command-line interface, you can use your preferred version control provider and tools.

Next Steps

Continue development in the currently active branch.

See Also

Start a free trial Request a demo
Contact us: +1-888-365-2779
sales@telerik.com
Copyright © 2016-2017, Progress Software Corporation and/or its subsidiaries or affiliates. All rights reserved.